Happy one year anniversary, Shane!

Image

Today is one year for me and Shane, and it’s also about the halfway point in our long distance relationship. In fact, last night I booked my flight to Ireland…I’ll be arriving in Dublin at 7am on Saturday, February 8th.  I can’t wait to run into his arms!

And, because I’m feeling mushy and nostalgic, I want to tell the story of how we met.  If you’re not romantic or you don’t care, here’s the short story: on Facebook.  If you want to know the rest, read on…

In November of 2012 I was getting ready to move to Jeonju, South Korea.  I joined the Facebook group for my new city and two weeks before moving, I made a post asking some questions.  That night I got a message from someone with a fake name and no pictures on their profile – I was ready to brush it aside, but the message was innocuous and it actually answered my questions, so I replied.  The next thing I knew, I was chatting with this person day and night…and I had no idea what he even looked like!  This continued until I arrived in Korea, where, on my first morning, I woke up jet lagged with empty cupboards and no idea where the grocery store was.  I was a bit apprehensive, but I messaged Shane.  And, as luck would have it…we were basically neighbors!

Shane offered to show me around, and the first time that I laid eyes on him was when he arrived at my apartment building.  It was definitely a “love at first sight” moment for both of us, although I wasn’t sure how things would go because he was so much more…gentlemanly…than the guys I was used to, haha.  He stayed out of my personal space and he made sure that I felt safe and secure the whole time that we hung out that day, and, even though he told me that he was interested in me, he didn’t make a move at all.

That is, until the next day.

The next day I woke up with a cold.  The day before I’d bought almost everything that I’d set out to buy, except for medicine and pomegranates.  I messaged Shane to ask about the pharmacy and he said that he would walk me over some vitamin C.  He swung by on his way to work, leaving me with a bag that had the promised vitamin C…and a pomegranate.  It was just the kind of cute and thoughtful gesture that I would come to love in the following year.  After that, he and I were attached at the hip.

Our first picture together: November 25, 2012.

 

How did you meet your SO?  And…what should I do in Ireland?!

5 thoughts on “Happy one year anniversary, Shane!

  1. Djoo

    I’m in an LDR myself and this made me smile so much! HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to you and Shane. If you have come this far, it definitely means you were “meant to be”. If you believe in such things. I love love stories and I this is going to be one of my faves. I can’t wait to hear more.

    Reply
    1. dayisnight Post author

      Thanks! I never really believed in “meant to be” but I am definitely warming to the idea now 🙂

      How long have you two been together? When is the LDR part done with?

      Reply
      1. Djoo

        It does sound like you are very compatible. We’ve been together 5 months but it feels like a lot longer than that. He will visit me in January and I him in July and then we’re thinking of something more permanent

Leave a Reply

